This cartoon is not “gangsta”

I don’t expect anyone to get this cartoon other than the people I drew it for. It’s based off of the Haymarket affair, where someone from an anarchist group threw a TNT bomb. The Knights of Labor was unfairly blamed for the incident, and it was a part of the union’s decline. This is kind of boring content-wise, but it’s for a high school project. Not everything will be particularly interesting.

I think that’s a pretty darn good-looking wheelbarrow, if I do say so myself. And I want one of those 30’s/40’s style hat for myself someday. Nothing says attitude like a gangster hat (as opposed to “gangsta”).

I am so glad that I can make gradients right now. If it weren’t for the subtle shift in shading, I probably would have had to have drawn many more people to give the impression of a large crowd. I think I pulled it off quite nicely without distracting from the figure in the foreground.

Tomorrow I get back to Ralph and Chuck, although it’s a bit weird. It’s the last cartoon I made for the project, so it’s handling the pop culture of the 1800s. I’ll say this: hillbillies.

Leave a Reply

