Censored

Ralph and Chuck was censored for the first time yesterday. I’m so proud.

The message I got was that the editor-in-chief felt the humor in this cartoon was “too subtle.” Well, I have a high opinion of Ralph and Chuck readers, whoever they are. I’m sure you won’t mind my posting this on the blog.

As far as the cartoon is concerned, I’m sure I’m not the only guy who had this thought flit through his mind. Purple is not a color the average straight man has in his wardrobe (Vikings and Ravens fans notwithstanding). Am I stereotyping? No more than Glee does, and everyone seems to like that show.

In all seriousness, bullying in any form is not cool. I should throw that out there before I’m accused of any more insensitivity than I already have been. Any suicide is a tragedy. Our lives are gifts, and it’s a sin to end them or drive anybody to end them. People are not disposable. They are people. This country was founded on the notion that we are individual beings endowed by our Creator with certain inalienable rights, among them life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. When a person who hasn’t been harmed in any way causes another to feel like less of a human being, that’s pretty much the lowest of the low. Every life is sacred and deserves that modicum of respect, and that principle is woven into the fabric of this country’s history.

What do you think of the cartoon? Should it have been pulled? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

