SpongeBob is not intellectually stimulating

Whoops, forgot to update the ‘ol blog yesterday.

I’ve been keeping myself busy, like I promised. I spent a good deal of time yesterday getting some reading done, although I did break to watch some Hey Arnold! episodes on Netflix. Did you know that you can stream Netflix on the Wii now?

While I was searching for things to watch, I briefly considered putting some SpongeBob Squarepants episodes in my queue. I decided against it because SpongeBob isn’t the kind of show that is worth going back and re-watching. That’s because frankly, it’s stupid.

I don’t mean that in a bad way. Sometimes I am really in the mood to watch something stupid. SpongeBob is the perfect show in this regard. The plot is mindless, the characters are mindless, and you feel mindless watching it. It’s great. But, it’s hard to re-watch mindless. Nostalgia only gets you so far. You want to be engaged with what you are watching. SpongeBob never does that, and as a result, you get bored very quickly while watching an episode you’ve already seen (with one notable exception).

I always have to pace myself with Hey Arnold!, though. Man, that’s a good show.

Any Nicktoons you enjoy watching? What do you think of the cartoon? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “SpongeBob is not intellectually stimulating

Leave a Reply

