Super Bowl XLV

I thought I’d draw something fun for Super Bowl XLV!

It wasn’t hard to make a connection between cheerleaders and Roethlisberger’s offseason antics, but the real purpose of this cartoon was to draw the gang settling in to watch the game. I wanted to give a nod to each of the two teams playing, so I included a cheese head and a Terrible Towel. I thought it was fitting to let Jimmy wear the cheese head since all one ever sees of him is his hat anyway, and I thought it would be fun showing Alfred trying to discern the point of the Terrible Towel. Someone as apathetic as Alfred is would find swinging a towel around even more pointless than the average person!

I won’t make it a secret that I was rooting for Green Bay. I think as a Colts fan I am justified in my sports-hate of the Steelers franchise (cough 1995 cough), and I also find their fans obnoxious. I like quite a few individuals in the Steelers organization: Troy Polamalu and Mike Tomlin, namely. I just wish they weren’t on the same team as Ben Roethlisberger, who I find contemptible. I dislike Roethlisberger even more for the fact that some (stupid) people actually try to make the argument that he’s a better quarterback than Peyton Manning, because he has more rings. Anyone who takes half a moment to consider this argument can realize how inane it is.

Congratulations to the Packers, and their fans! I wish it could have been us, but if it can’t be, any season where it isn’t the Patriots, Chargers or Steelers is a good season for me. Hopefully we can win next year (if there is a next year) as the first team to win a Super Bowl in their own stadium!

Leave a Reply

