Passing wind

I’ve always been a fan of The Hobbit, but this Christmas break was the first time I have read The Lord of the Rings all the way through. I had tried reading them before, but was a little too young at the time to really get into them. Man, was I missing out! I’ve become a real Tolkien fan in the last couple of months. I’ve read The Silmarillion and am in the middle of my second reading of LOTR, and I’m anxious to read the rest of Tolkien’s works that have been published posthumously.

The passage Chuck is reading comes from the chapter “Of the Beginning of Days” in The Silmarillion. The immature part of me was cracking up imagining Tulkas defeating Melkor in a cloud of passed wind, and I imagined that Chuck would have a similar reaction. I hope this cartoon doesn’t go over people’s heads, particularly those that haven’t read The Silmarillion, but I think it’s still accessible and understandable by those that aren’t familiar with Tolkien’s Arda.

Also, I’m pretty proud of the way I made the book look! One can’t tell in the black and white IDS, but on the color version I made it very similar to the cover of the book:

Leave a Reply

