Midterms

I apologize this wasn’t posted yesterday!

I’m smack dab in the middle of my midterms right now, which is why there wasn’t a cartoon on Wednesday. I thought it would be appropriate to do a midterm-related cartoon, as many students are probably feeling the pressure right now.

I worried that this cartoon would be a little too difficult to understand. It seemed funny to me and at first I was excited to draw it, but the more I read it the more I was concerned that it would fly over people’s heads. I think it was just one of those things where the more I looked at it, the odder it seemed – Ā kind of like when if you repeat a word again and again, it starts to sound funny, even if it’s a perfectly normal word that you’ve used your whole life. The example I remember best is the first chapter of Lemony Snicket’s The Hostile Hospital, where the author mimicked a telegram by using “stop” at the end of every sentence. Hearing stop, stop, stop, stop, stop over and over made it sound odd, to the point where I wanted it to stop.

Looking at this cartoon over twenty-four hours later, my worrying was pointless. The cartoon flows fine and it’s easy to understand, and I liked the way I was able to draw Ralph being contemplative with his pencil. I shouldn’t second-guess myself so much.

Leave a Reply

