Figments and finals

Apologies for not making a post on Friday –  it kind of got lost in the shuffle. I was moving half of my dorm home this past weekend because I accumulated more than could be moved after finals. It’s funny how that seems to happen every year!

Friday’s cartoon was an idea that had been kicking around in my head for a while. Humans are a creative species (or as J.R.R. Tolkien would say, “sub-creative”), so for many the natural impulse is to create worlds of our own. Just as naturally, these worlds are incapable of being as thorough or well thought out as the world of our Creator! So these characters that I create for one strip cease to exist after the last panel. I use them and throw them away, never to be seen again, these figments of my imagination.  If I were a genuine Creator, that would be an awfully cruel way of going about things.

Once I finished, I was reminded of this Calvin & Hobbes:

Pretty creepy. It’s a good thing my characters only truly exist in my head.

Today’s cartoon is much more lighthearted! Easter is supposed to be a joyful holiday (“Good” Friday is where it’s heavy), so I wanted to do something fun. If you’ll notice, the way I drew Chuck is an homage to Schulz’s Easter Beagle:



After tying it in to what most students are worried about right now – finals – I think I have a pretty successful cartoon here. My girlfriend likes it, anyway!

One thought on “Figments and finals

Leave a Reply

