Censored

This is the cartoon that was meant to run the first Monday of summer vacation, but was pulled. For a long time I wasn’t sure why – the only thing I had to go on was a short email that told me the reason was that it was “too soon.” I was proud of this cartoon and disappointed when I learned it wouldn’t be run.

I was finally able to communicate with the IDS editor-in-chief to get some clarification, and learned that the reason the cartoon was pulled was because it had an image of the World Trade Center being attacked. The paper had decided leading up to the tenth anniversary of 9/11 that they weren’t going to print any of those images, and that included drawings in the cartoons.

The cartoon was meant to criticize those who claim to be offended by those who are happy with the death of Osama bin Laden. My defense is that it’s a celebration of justice, not bloodlust. The moral relativists of today choose not to recognize the difference. The image of the Twin Towers was there as a reminder of what the man we killed was responsible for, and the reason his death has made many people happy. I’m not going to change the cartoon for publication because I feel the image is necessary to convey the full impact of the emotion behind the death of Osama bin Laden, but I respect the IDS’ decision not to run it. These types of journalistic ethical issues are not always cut and dry and frequently met with disagreement.

That said, I’m glad I have this blog so that I can still publish this cartoon in some form.

Leave a Reply

