The end of an era

I can’t believe that tonight we’ve finally reached the last Harry Potter film.

I don’t know what else to say except that this movie will be very bittersweet. I expect it will be excellent and do justice to the end of the series, but no matter how good it is, it’s still the last film. At least when the books were over we had the movies to look forward to –  but after this, what’s left?

The fandom will survive, of course. If Trekkies and Star Wars fans can still find things to do today, Harry Potter fans will be fine. I’m excited to see what goodies are going to come our way from Rowling’s Pottermore project, but still, nothing will compare to the excitement of looking forward to that next book or film.

But I’m going to hang on to that feeling for as long as I can, for the next five hours at least. Then I’ll give a final goodbye to my childhood. It’s been a wild ride, Harry. I can’t wait to see you triumph one last time on the big screen.

Mischief managed.

Leave a Reply

