Bil Keane and the death of the newspaper

I’ve been reading Family Circus for as long as I can remember. It’s the most widely syndicated cartoon in the world. Dotted line drawings, Billy stand-ins, “Ida Know” and “Not Me” are iconic.

That’s why it kind of surprised me when most people I told about Bil Keane passing didn’t have any idea who “Bil Keane” was. When I explained that he was the creator of Family Circus, only about half of those people knew what “Family Circus” was.

It kind of depressed me. Are we really starting to lose the ritual of sitting down and reading the Sunday funnies? I guess the heralded “death of the newspaper” had never really hit me until my friends failed to recognize the loss of one of the heaviest hitters of newspaper comics.

I’m not worried about the future of sequential art – it’s doing just fine on the internet, flourishing in fact. But as ready as I have been to embrace new media and all of its benefits, I don’t think I’ll be able to be so cavalier when discussing the slow passing of print media again. It’s not just Bil Keane passing, but an age of comics that is following close behind.

One thought on “Bil Keane and the death of the newspaper

  1. I see your cartoon style as most similar to FoxTrot, which is why I was initially drawn to it (pun not intended,) with a splash of Calvin and Hobbes and a little bit of The Book of Biff thrown in for good measure.

    It died because of the Internet, but out of new challenges come those who strive to surpass it. Those who don’t get replaced by those who know what they’re doing, i.e. you.

Leave a Reply

