Blackout

After making this cartoon, I realized that some might interpret this as support for SOPA and PIPA, or at least a condemnation of Wikipedia’s efforts to bring attention to the issue.

That was definitely not my intention. I’m all for the protection of intellectual property rights, but online piracy is a very complicated issue. Using these particular bills to stop online piracy is like trying to remove a brain tumor with a sledgehammer. There has to be a better way!

This cartoon was meant to be facetious, as is my intention with most of my comics. I wanted to imitate Wikipedia’s blackout page and poke fun at how Wikipedia’s blackout would cause distress for students (and apparently teachers!), which it did. In a particularly humorous fashion, I might add!

 

Leave a Reply

