Squirrels

I like to mess with squirrels.

I don’t mess with every squirrel. The ones who run away or kind of skirt near a tree as I walk by are fine. They’re smart, behaving as squirrels should. I’m talking about those complacent campus squirrels that don’t move a muscle as you walk by.

No squirrel should be that secure.

I’ll make a sudden move or run after it so it makes for a tree, and so next time maybe it’ll think twice about not being worried when a student walks by. Because that kind of complacency in the wild is the way you get killed. I consider it a public service, keeping these squirrels on their toes.

Plus, it’s fun!

Leave a Reply

