Have some comics!

I’ve had a busy couple of weeks! I succeeded in completing my comic quota, but I neglected to update the blog. Here’s everything that I’ve done since Sept. 14:

The first comic is one that I’m not even sure I make sense of myself. I somehow got the idea in my head of Lily looking at multiple kinds of media, being bombarded with profanity (the cartoon kind!). Don’t ask me why. I chose to make it about the election. Lily is seeing all of this squabbling wherever she goes, and can’t escape it. Even though technically political arguments aren’t necessarily laced with profanity, especially on TV (we’ll say the first panel is Bob Beckel), a lot of people see political arguments in the same way. I think I did well by making the hard punch Lily revealing that it was politics, and using the soft punch to reinforce the comic-style use of profanity with Sarah. Expectations are shattered, but then are suddenly met.

Like I said, I’m not even sure I make sense of it myself. But I think it still works!

The next comic is self-explanatory. There are some things I like and some things I don’t like about the new iOS, but I’ll end up getting the iPhone 5 at some point anyway. That’s just how it works.

The third comic represents my fears about the upcoming Hobbit film trilogy. This was actually something that had happened to me early in the semester – someone who wasn’t quite the Tolkien fanatic that I was said she found The Hobbit boring, and hoped Peter Jackson would “spice it up.” My heart broke! I’m excited for the movie, but I’m worried as well.

The bubble wrap comic was just Chuck being silly. I also wanted to have some fun drawing Chuck rushing off-panel. I think incorporating “whoosh” into the motion trail came off great.

The rain boots comic was completely my girlfriend’s idea. I loved it, and I loved drawing it. It took me a while to finish, because I was playing around a lot with opacity masks (they’re what gave the two final panels a blue tint, and let me show the light from the headlight). I’ve always said I love it when I get opportunities to do wordless comics, and this one was no exception.

I honestly couldn’t tell you where the idea for tomorrow’s comic came from. I’ll just say my facts came from a combination of Yahoo Answer articles and some astronomist who answers email questions and posts them online. From what I can tell there are multiple schools of thought on how to best estimate the speed of such large objects that we obviously can’t measure ourselves, and that most of those speeds had multiple answers. So if I got anything wrong, sorry!

Also, it’s fun to have a comic where Ralph and Chuck live up to their namesake. 😉

Leave a Reply

