Magnitude and midterms

I had my first midterm yesterday, and a question before the exam inspired this comic!

I was following my usual practice of taking things literally for the purposes of humor. A friend asked this same question and got the same response, so I told him “There you go, you can use your Crayola crayons on the test.”

I got maybe one laugh, and then I thought it would make a good comic. But I decided to take it to the ridiculous, drawing literally the most impractical writing utensil I could think of (that was still recognizable as a writing utensil). A giant Crayola crayon seemed perfect. I love to draw wildly unrealistic things, and it was fun showing something that couldn’t possibly have fit into that backpack.

I think I did well on the exam, in case you were wondering. I completed it with a pen.

Leave a Reply

