Derivative

calvinandhobbesOftentimes when I’m at a loss for new comic ideas, I end up thinking about my favorite strips (including Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson) and all of the ideas that they made work.

This seldom helps, since then I can only think of all these great ideas that I wouldn’t be able to use without some pretty obvious plagiarizing.

For this comic, my internal musing about how difficult it is to come up with original ideas seemed perfectly suited for one of Calvin and Hobbes’ philosophical wagon rides. I was thrilled, since this way I could call it an “homage” rather than a blatant ripoff. Nuance is important.

Of course, talking about originality and nuance in art is also very well suited for a Calvin and Hobbes snowmen comic. But I think I’ll quit while I’m ahead.

Leave a Reply

