Avoiding chores, analyzing outfits, pros and cons of the internet, final papers, and violent punchlines

gonefarcomicstripmenfallaciesfinalpaperviolentLooking back on my most recent comics, it looks like I was in a pretty self-referential mood. Three out of the five had the characters somehow acknowledging that they were in a comic strip. Really it was four out of six, if you consider the Calvin and Hobbes homage last week.

The first comic is an idea I remember coming up with a while ago, and I couldn’t tell you why I haven’t actually drawn it until now. I liked the idea of some characters staying “in panel” while another abuses the privilege of “breaking panel.”

The next one is partially based off of experience. Sometimes my opinion is asked of one of my fiancée’s outfits and my first response is “why are you asking me?” Although I’m not a comic strip character, I’ve pretty much been wearing the same clothes since high school. When I have to dress up I’m mocked by female family members for not understanding what’s allowed and not allowed. I’m the last person you should ask for fashion advice.

The next comic represents my range of emotions when thinking about the internet.

I had the inspiration for the final paper comic after finishing one of my final projects and writing the file name.

The last comic speaks for itself. I’m annoyed we’re walking on eggshells when it comes to what motivates these people. If it were the KKK bombing people, we would have no problem pointing to their sick ideology, so why do we pretend otherwise in instances obviously related to Islamic extremism? No intelligent person would argue that all Muslims are terrorists any more than they would argue that every white person is a white supremacist. Identifying the problem is the first step to solving it.

Leave a Reply

